top of page

Blog Post 3: Shitty First Drafts

My shitty first draft is always my favorite; it is like my first child of many children (polished drafts) to come. It is everything that I want to express; raw, less filtered, and free room for creativity are what molds the templates of my polished writing. I can definitely agree to some degree with the author said in regard to creating a piece of writing (as with everyday life as well) -- I don’t know what I'm doing until I've actually done it. With my writing style, I developed a formula that allows me to start off very vague all while staying on the topic of discussion. I start that way, because beginning my paper with something noticeably intriguing and/or attention-grabbing is an imperative thing for me. As I work my pen I start to get an idea of where I want to go in my writing, and when I am finished I go back to my introduction and tweak it to the way I deem is necessary concerning the specificity of the topic. As I read through Shitty First Drafts, I found that the author and I make alike mistakes while writing my first draft, such as making a ridiculously long introduction paragraph for a short paper.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page